BroadcastMedia RightsOTT

LIVEnow picks up global rights for inaugural Lanka Premier League cricket

By 25th November 2020 November 27th, 2020 No Comments

The tournament will be shown globally by LIVEnow, although not in the UK and Ireland where the rights are held by Sky Sports.

Streaming platform LIVEnow has picked up the exclusive rights in 111 countries to air the Lanka Premier League – Sri Lanka’s new domestic cricket T20 league.

The tournament started yesterday, with five teams playing 23 matches over 15 days. It includes 90 of the World’s top players.

The five teams – Colombo Kings, Dambulla Vikings, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions and Kandy Tuskers – compete in eight games during the first round. Four teams advance to the semi-finals on 13 and 14 December, with the final taking place on 16 December.

Marc Watson, director at LIVEnow, says: “T20 is an exciting format, cricket fans love it and it’s really accessible to sporting enthusiasts looking to discover something new. Lanka Premier League perfectly complements the variety and thrill of our programming.”

Anil Mohan, CEO of Innovative Production Group, the rights holders of the Lanka Premier League 2020-2024, added: “The potential to harness LIVENow’s global footprint to reach every fan wanting to watch the inaugural Lanka Premier League 2020 was an attractive proposition for us and we are delighted to secure coverage across five continents in these unprecedented times.”

Lanka Premier League will be available on LIVENow in the following countries:




Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Vatican City.

South & Sub Saharan Africa

Angola, Burundi, Botswana, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Gabon, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

South & Central America

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama

South East Asia

Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam

North America

United States of America

Leave a Reply