BroadcastLive SportMedia RightsOTTProductionTech Innovation

Eurosport to produce podcasts and how-to videos for World Snooker Championships

By 21st July 2020 No Comments

The broadcaster will ramp up its analysis and supplementary content for the tournament.

Eurosport is screening every round of The World Snooker Championships, which begins tonight, including the qualifiers. The tournament runs until 16 August.

Eurosport is broadcasting the Championships – snooker’s biggest event – live to 50+ markets across Eurosport channels and the Eurosport App. On-demand highlights with also be available from every match.

The qualifiers are being held at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield, from 21-28 July, and involving 128 players in total, before the finals commence at The Crucible Theatre, Sheffield.

Matches will be played in front of a limited number of spectators

Ronnie O’Sullivan is creating short-form video content – Ronnie’s Masterclass – exclusively for Eurosport, offering ‘how-to’ tips on different snooker techniques.

Meanwhile, Eurosport’s presenters and commentators include 1986 world champion Joe Johnson and six-time World Championship finalist Jimmy White.

The broadcaster is also creating regular episodes of its snooker podcast The Break, hosted by Eurosport’s Rachel Casey, throughout the tournament.

Jamie Steward, UK senior director of production and broadcast at Eurosport, said: “The drama of live world-class snooker doesn’t get any bigger than watching the best players go head-to-head under the lights of the Crucible. With fewer fans able to attend this year, there’s an even greater responsibility for us to take viewers closer to the action and we’re innovating how we use our experts and different formats to engage fans more deeply than ever before.”

Ronnie O’Sullivan added: “It’s fantastic that Eurosport can bring top level snooker to fans on a global scale. They set high standards to bring viewers the best possible coverage, and I’m proud to be part of it.”

Key dates
Tuesday 21 July qualifiers begin (11:00 CEST / 10:00 BST)
Wednesday 29 July main draw takes place (12:00 CEST / 11:00 BST)
Friday 31 July main draw begins with 2019 champion Judd Trump defending his title in the opening match (11:00 CEST / 10:00 BST)
Sunday 2 August five-time winner Ronnie O’Sullivan begins his bid for a record-equalling sixth world title (11:00 CEST / 10:00 BST)
Monday 10 August quarter finals begin (11:00 CEST / 10:00 BST)
Wednesday 12 August semi-finals begin (14:30 CEST / 13:30 BST)
Saturday 15 August final begins (14:30 CEST / 13:30 BST)
World Snooker Championships main draw format:
Round One best-of-19 frames
Round Two best-of-25 frames
Quarter final best-of-25 frames
Semi-final best-of-33 frames
Final best-of-35 frame

PICTURED: Five-time world champion Ronnie O’Sullivan and Rachel Casey will provide content for Eurosport throughout the 2020 tournament (Getty Images)

Leave a Reply