BroadcastMedia RightsOTT

Eurosport picks up European rights for live snooker’s return on 1 June

By 28th May 2020 No Comments

The deal covers all territories except the UK.

Eurosport has picked up the live rights to screen snooker’s Championship League, which runs 1-11 June. The deal covers all territories in Europe except the UK.

The tournament is being held in Milton Keynes, with 64 world-class players competing for total prize fund of £218,000.

Players including Judd Trump (pictured above), Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Selby, Neil Robertson, Mark Allen and Kyren Wilson have confirmed they will enter the event.

Eurosport has come to an agreement with Matchroom Multi-Sport to broadcast the championship live in more than 50 European countries and territories.

Andrew Georgiou, president, Eurosport and global sports rights & sports marketing solutions, said: “We know people have been missing live sport and through the Championship League we are aiming to leverage Discovery’s sports platforms to bring world-class snooker to millions of fans across the continent. We wholeheartedly support Matchroom’s safety measures through our own technology infrastructure which protects the well-being of our own staff and everyone involved.”

Barry Hearn, Matchroom Chairman, added: “We are delighted that Eurosport will broadcast extensive coverage of the Championship League as this will bring the event to a vast number of territories and give fans in those regions the chance to see live sport. Snooker is one of the few sports which is able to return because of the strict health and safety measures we can put in place, which we have achieved.”

The Championship League:
• 64 players competing in 16 groups
• All groups involve four players per group
• Two tables (one on linear + one streamed) with two groups playing each day
• Player that finishes top of the group goes through to the next stage
• All matches played over four frames
• Tournament Finals on 11 June – the four Phase Two winners compete in one final group, played on one table, to determine the Championship League winner

Leave a Reply